The Whitehill Prize

The Colonial Society of Massachuestts announces the 2014 Walter Muir Whitehill Prize winner, Douglas L. Winiarski.

The award-winning essay, "Lydia Prout's Dreadfullest Thought,"was published in the September 2015 issue of The New England Quarterly.

The Colonial Society of Massachusetts announces the 2016 Walter Muir Whitehill Prize in Early American History

This prize of two thousand five hundred dollars, established in memory of Walter Muir Whitehill, for many years Editor of Publications for the Colonial Society and the moving force behind the organization, will be awarded for a distinguished essay on early American history (up to 1825), not previously published, with preference being given to New England subjects. The Society hopes that the prize may be awarded annually.

A committee of members of the Colonial Society will review the essays. Their decision in all cases will be final. The following historians have agreed to serve as judges:

Fred Anderson, Professor of History, University of Colorado, Boulder;

David D. Hall, Bartlett Research Professor of New England Church History, Harvard Divinity School;

Mary Beth Norton, Mary Donlon Alger Professor of American History, Cornell University.

By arrangement with the editors of the New England Quarterly, the Society will have the winning essay published in an appropriate issue of the journal.

Essays are now being accepted for consideration. All manuscripts submitted for the 2016 prize must be postmarked no later than 31 December 2016. The Society expects to announce the winning candidate in the spring of 2017.

Entries submitted for consideration should be addressed to:

Whitehill Prize Committee
c/o The New England Quarterly
History Department
University of Massachusetts, Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA, 02125